Scarva FLAX Paper Clay ES600 Porcelain From  £19.73

Thank you for your opinion!
Rating: 4.57 Based on 19 Reviews
Write A Review Return to Product Information
Sort By

5.00 out of 5 stars
Maggie from United KingdomOwner17 June 2014 19:44
Very easy to use and versatile, I have thrown small items with it on the wheel. Great to recycle.
118 People out of 225 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
5.00 out of 5 stars
VickyFa from United KingdomOwner10 August 2016 20:55
Brilliant stuff!
67 People out of 120 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
5.00 out of 5 stars
vicky from United KingdomOwner11 September 2016 11:34
So versatile!
67 People out of 103 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
5.00 out of 5 stars
Vicky from United KingdomOwner30 April 2017 15:20
Love this clay!
22 People out of 37 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
5.00 out of 5 stars
Anonymous from United KingdomOwner21 May 2017 19:51
Brilliant for hand building.
14 People out of 35 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
5.00 out of 5 stars
Anonymous from United Kingdom23 July 2017 16:04
Perfect clay, perfect delivery
19 People out of 33 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
5.00 out of 5 stars
Anonymous from United Kingdom06 August 2017 14:06
On my 3rd bag of this clay does just what I want.
15 People out of 34 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
5.00 out of 5 stars
Anonymous from United KingdomOwner28 December 2011 15:13
This is a great product compared to other fibre clays, making my work so much easier. The clay is consistently good, always very smooth, with a nice warm white colour and good translucency. It also keeps well, doesn't go mouldy as other paper clays and the packaging makes it very easy to handle. The only slightly negative aspect is that when newly delivered the clay can be quite wet and sticky.
237 People out of 388 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
5.00 out of 5 stars
Jason from United KingdomOwner21 October 2012 15:06
Out of the bag a little sticky, easy to dry up to a good working consistency within a short time. This clay is very durable when fully dried and allows precise carving of very fine detail, which is exactly what I needed. I tried throwing it(not on a wheel, literally throwing a piece at a wall) and it only left a dent. Possibly a bit excessive, but a strength like this opens up a lot of possibilities.
169 People out of 310 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
5.00 out of 5 stars
Bernd from United KingdomOwner09 June 2019 16:21
Excellent for handbuilding, brilliant white.
15 People out of 33 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
5.00 out of 5 stars
wendy from United KingdomOwner11 August 2019 14:55
Great delivery, clay good as always
15 People out of 28 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
5.00 out of 5 stars
Millie  from United KingdomOwner06 April 2021 13:20
This is a wonderful, strong yet delicate, porcelain clay. Great for hand building. If the clay is thin enough, it becomes translucent after high firing. I get great results with clear glaze.
7 People out of 18 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
5.00 out of 5 stars
Karen from United Kingdom29 August 2021 22:59
Great service
5 People out of 12 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
4.00 out of 5 stars
Anonymous from Denmark04 May 2021 19:09
Easy to work with and very versatile for handbuilding techniques.
Unfortunately, I am currently having some warping issues that are quite visible in my bigger slab buit pieces, and I am still trying to find out if it is an issue of the clay, or my new workspace environment that causes this.
8 People out of 14 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
4.00 out of 5 stars
Maria from United KingdomOwner26 November 2012 15:37
Paper has a tremendous green strength, can be force dried and it is easily mended when bone dry. It is also very easy to recycle. It responds very well to modelling and impression techniques, but is not good for throwing, carving or etching. The FLAX clay is better than all other paper clays I have tried and it does it not mould or rot easily.
145 People out of 264 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
4.00 out of 5 stars
Anonymous from United Kingdom06 October 2013 12:07
Fires beautifully! Strangely bobbly to work with initially.
132 People out of 247 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
4.00 out of 5 stars
Heather from United KingdomOwner06 August 2017 19:37
As said before very wet when first opened, lovely and smooth, light etc not ideal for me as I make a lot of pierced work and its not perfectly suited to this I feel as it doesnt always cut cleanly, prefer porcelain for this. Do think its great for sculpture though
18 People out of 39 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
3.00 out of 5 stars
Anonymous from United Kingdom22 August 2022 13:04
Lovely clay to work with as described and it smells gorgeous. A pleasure to work with. Only thing is the first piece I made - a shallow wide dish shape for an upside down ceiling light - slumped badly. Because I wanted to glaze the rim and I wasn’t glazing inside I balanced the piece on 3 kiln stilts and it slumped and now looks like a 3 cornered hat. !! Absolutely no good for it’s purpose now. Very sad as loved working with it. I bisque fired to 1000 and then a medium
Fast stoneware glaze to 1222. Small pieces also in same load with same clay seem fine. Could it have been because I raised it on stilts and maybe I should have used 4 instead 3 so the slump wasn’t so triangular? Comment welcome because I want to try again. I usually only use low fired clay and so Could I fire this clay lower to say 1040 which is my usually low firing top temp?
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
3.00 out of 5 stars
Jan from Denmark13 September 2022 07:15
I used to think the ES600 was a nice product, but now the color is darker and the consistency is not the same as before, unfortunately.

Yes I am disappointed and will stop buying it.
3 People out of 3 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo