Scarva Earthstone ES130 White Earthenware Clay From  £12.50

Rating: 5.00 Based on 13 Reviews
Write A Review Return to Product Information
Sort By

5.00 out of 5 stars
jude from United KingdomOwner28 October 2012 16:55
I have been looking for a white earthenware body which fits my commercial brush-on glazes for some time and have finally found a product that 'fits' the bill. At first I was dubbious as the plastic clay has a very grey appearance but it fired super white with excellent true, crisp high gloss colours. Couldn't be happier.
49 People out of 95 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
5.00 out of 5 stars
Anonymous from United KingdomOwner18 February 2013 13:46
I am very pleased with this body. Throws really well and is a good all round clay.
36 People out of 71 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
5.00 out of 5 stars
Rory from Ireland28 July 2013 11:02
Love it!
38 People out of 72 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
5.00 out of 5 stars
Anonymous from United KingdomOwner22 February 2015 13:01
Ever since I first used this clay, it has become my standard. It fires to a beautiful light colour that makes coloured earthenware glazes really pop. Superb for handbuilding and copes with flat slab based work despite being ungrogged. I have also used it for smoke fired work which is made more dramatic with the light fired colour. Cannot praise this clay enough - I love it!
22 People out of 39 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
5.00 out of 5 stars
Heather from United Kingdom05 July 2015 10:51
This is my favourite white earthenware, I use nothing else these days. Very smooth, lovely to work with. Only used when handbuilding so can't comment on use on the wheel. Fires to a very pleasant off-white.
17 People out of 38 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
5.00 out of 5 stars
sue from United KingdomOwner29 January 2017 15:09
This is the first earthenware clay I have used and I love it. It has a lovely feel to it to throw and handbuild. I have been sculpting animals with it and it is superb. Dries to a very pale cream. Have'nt yet bisqued or glazed it yet as only received recently. Love all the clays I have purchased from Scarva. Cannot praise them enough for superb products and service. Many thanks Sue N.
20 People out of 37 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
5.00 out of 5 stars
Raquel from United KingdomOwner09 May 2017 10:59
This is the first clay I bought and just love it, is really smooth and very plastic, I love the feeling of it when throwing.
It could be they way I fire it, but to me it turns into pure white when bisque fired and retrains the white after the final firing.
14 People out of 35 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
5.00 out of 5 stars
Brenda from United KingdomOwner11 June 2017 11:11
My favored site
20 People out of 33 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
5.00 out of 5 stars
Fiona from United KingdomOwner11 August 2017 10:12
Lovely to throw.
15 People out of 30 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
5.00 out of 5 stars
Val P from United Kingdom19 March 2018 19:53
An easy clay for a relative amateur! I’m looking forward to seeing the outcome of my afternoon throwing some shapes I hadn’t managed to achieve before.
10 People out of 19 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
5.00 out of 5 stars
Anonymous from United Kingdom26 March 2018 10:14
Fantastic service over the phone, delivery was reasonably quick and product was wrapped well.
9 People out of 18 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
5.00 out of 5 stars
Krista from United Kingdom10 June 2019 08:03
Lovely clay, nice and soft. My only raise of the eyebrow was that it came in a single black bag which wasn’t heat sealed. Nonetheless will order from here again. 👍
4 People out of 8 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo
5.00 out of 5 stars
Hayley from United KingdomOwner15 July 2019 07:11
This is a lovely clay to use, I’m throwing and slabbing with it. With just a transparent glaze, it had a beautiful cream colour. Reminds me a Takeshi yasuda’s creamware. It takes colour and print brilliantly too. I’m currently firing to 1140, with no warping. Will be trying it at 1200, soon. Really, really like this clay.
4 People out of 9 Found this review useful.
Was this review helpful to you?
YesNo